Residenztheater, 18.30 o'clock
Sun 04 Dec
Residenztheater, 18.30 o'clock
Mon 26 Dec
DREI SCHWESTERN (THREE SISTERS)
by Simon Stone after Anton Chekhov
Premiere 30. October 2019
Residenztheater
2 Hours 30 Minutes
1 Break
Recommended for ages 14 and above

Anton Chekhov – and with him the modern theatre – entered the 20th century with a drama about everyday life, desire and failure: «Three Sisters», first performed at the Moscow Arts Theatre in 1901 is a family chronicle in which Chekhov maintains a balance between melancholy and joie-de-vivre, realism and stylization.

 

The Australian writer and director Simon Stone took Chekhov’s famous play as the starting point for his rewriting – voted «Play of the Year 2017» in «Theater heute» magazine – that combines rapid fire dialogue, subtle character studies and the ambivalence that arises from them while locating the play thematically in the here and now.

 

«Do we even deserve to be happy? Because perhaps we’re always looking for the opposite. We sabotage all the opportunities life offers us.»

 

Chekhov’s provincial figures become city dwellers in their holiday home, searching for the meaning of life in the age of Twitter, Facebook and Instagram, hankering after childhood memories and visions of the future in between conversations about the defeat of the Left and Donald Trump. The play is about the existential and the comic, about hopes and dreams – and about using these to attack the ever-threatening banalities of the everyday, loneliness and desperation. 


With his radical new interpretations of works from the classic canon of dramatic literature, Simon Stone is regarded as one of the most influential directors in international theatre today. This production for Theater Basel was invited to the Berlin Theatertreffen 2017.


«Chekhov’s plays all begin with the direction that they are set in the present and I am taking him at his word. The present never stops. At some point, people started shifting it to the past because they thought that by the present the author had meant his own present. But they should always reflect contemporary society.» Simon Stone

Trailer

Artistic Direction

Direction Simon Stone
Stage Design Lizzie Clachan
Costume Design Mel Page
Music Stefan Gregory
Lighting Cornelius Hunziker,  Gerrit Jurda
Dramaturgy Constanze Kargl

Drei Schwestern

Residenztheater, 18.30 Uhr
Mi 25 Dez
Residenztheater, 19.30 Uhr
Sa 28 Dez
DREI SCHWESTERN
von Simon Stone nach Anton Tschechow
Premiere 30. Oktober 2019
Residenztheater
2 Stunden 25 Minuten
1 Pause
Altersempfehlung: ab 14 Jahren

Mit einem Drama um Alltag, Sehnsucht und Scheitern stieg Anton Tschechow – und mit ihm das moderne Theater – ins 20. Jahrhundert ein: «Drei Schwestern», uraufgeführt 1901 im Moskauer Künstlertheater, ist die Chronik einer Familie, in der Tschechow die Balance zwischen Melancholie und Lebensfreude, Realismus und Stilisierung hält.

 

Der australische Autor und Regisseur Simon Stone hat Tschechows berühmtes Drama zum Ausgangspunkt seiner von «Theater heute» als «Stück des Jahres 2017» ausgezeichneten Neudichtung genommen und diese mit rasanter Dialogkunst, subtilen Charakterstudien und der daraus sich zuverlässig ergebenden Ambivalenz der Figuren thematisch im Hier und Jetzt verortet.

 

«Verdienen wir überhaupt, glücklich zu sein? Weil vielleicht suchen wir immer das Gegenteil. Also sabotieren wir alle Chancen, die das Leben uns gibt.»

 

Aus Tschechows Provinzpersonal werden so urbane Sinnsuchende, die in Zeiten von Twitter, Facebook und Instagram in ihrem Ferienhaus zwischen Gesprächen über den Niedergang der Linken und Donald Trump Kindheitserinnerungen und Zukunftsvisionen nachhängen. Es geht um Existenzielles und Komisches, um Hoffnungen und Träume – und darum, mit diesen gegen die stets drohenden Banalitäten des Alltags, gegen Einsamkeit und Verzweiflung vorzugehen.


Simon Stone gilt mit seinen radikalen Neuinterpretationen kanonisierter Klassiker der Dramenliteratur als einer der einflussreichsten Regisseure des internationalen Gegenwartstheaters und wurde mit dieser Inszenierung des Theater Basel zum Berliner Theatertreffen 2017 eingeladen.


«Tschechows Stücke beginnen alle mit dem Hinweis, dass sie in der Gegenwart spielen, und dabei nehme ich ihn wörtlich. Die Gegenwart hört nie auf. Irgendwann hat man begonnen, sie in die Vergangenheit zu versetzen, weil man der Meinung war, der Autor hätte mit der Gegenwart seine eigene Gegenwart gemeint. Dabei sollten sie doch die jeweils gegenwärtige Gesellschaft widerspiegeln.» Simon Stone

 

Übernahme der Uraufführungsinszenierung des Theater Basel

Künstlerische Leitung

Inszenierung Simon Stone
Bühne Lizzie Clachan
Kostüme Mel Page
Musik Stefan Gregory
Licht Cornelius Hunziker, Gerrit Jurda
Dramaturgie Constanze Kargl