Engel in Amerika

Premiere
Residenztheater
Jun 2022
ENGEL IN AMERIKA
von Tony Kushner
Münchner Premiere
Premiere Jun 2022
Residenztheater
5 Hours 30 Minutes
3 Breaks
Altersempfehlung: ab 14 Jahren

Translated by Frank Heibert

 

PART I: MILLENNIUM APPROACHES approx. 2 hours and 20 minutes, one interval

PART II: PERESTROIKA approx. 2 hours and 20 minutes, one interval

Duration Parts I and II: approx. 5 hours and 30 minutes including intervals

The mid-1980s: the outbreak of the disease AIDS alarms New York. Louis, son of a wealthy Jewish family, abandons his sick boyfriend Prior and starts a relationship with conservative Mormon lawyer Joe. When Joe’s drug-dependent wife Harper retreats into dreams of everlasting ice, his strictly religious mother flies in outraged from Salt Lake City. The Republican Roy Cohn, a cynical and power-obsessed lawyer, insists until his last breath that he is not gay and does not have AIDS. Even on his deathbed, he refuses to stop arguing about this with his black nurse Belize. And then an angel breaks through Prior’s bedroom ceiling.

 

«You’re scared. So am I. Everyone is in the land of freedom. God help us all.»

 

Tony Kushner’s theatrical epic won the Pulitzer Prize in 1993. Set in the Reagan era, it was written against the background of nascent neo-liberalism. «Angels in America» still provides an accurate and unsparing analysis of a society that is the carrier for a collective disease whose existence it struggles to accept. The fact that Kushner created a literary portrait of Roy Cohn here, the former lawyer of a subsequent US President, is much more than a wink from history.

 

The Australian director Simon Stone reads Kushner from the perspective of our millennium, in which the spirit of neo-liberalism has taken up residence in every aspect of our lives with no resistance. His Nestroy Prize-winning production now comes to Munich, a city where the prominent location of Aids Memorial by the artist Wolfgang Tillmans reminds us of the victims of this disease and those people who continue to live with AIDS today.

Trailer

Artistic Direction

Direction Simon Stone
Stage Design Ralph Myers
Costume Design Mel Page
Music Stefan Gregory
Lighting Tobias Löffler, Cornelius Hunziker
Dramaturgy Almut Wagner

Engel in Amerika

Premiere
Residenztheater
Fr 27 Mär
ENGEL IN AMERIKA
von Tony Kushner
Münchner Premiere
Premiere 27. März 2020
Residenztheater
Engel in Amerika Teil I: Die Jahrhundertwende naht
Engel in Amerika Teil II: Perestroika
Altersempfehlung: ab 12 Jahren

Mitte der 1980er-Jahre: Der Ausbruch der Krankheit Aids erschüttert New York. Louis, Sprössling einer jüdischen Großfamilie, verlässt panisch seinen erkrankten Freund Prior und kommt mit dem konservativen mormonischen Anwalt Joe zusammen. Dessen medikamentenabhängige Frau Harper flüchtet sich daraufhin in ihren Träumen ins ewige Eis, seine strenggläubige Mutter Hannah reist auf-gebracht aus Salt Lake City an. Der machtbesessene und zynische Republikaner Roy Cohn, ebenfalls Anwalt, behauptet bis zu seinem letzten Atemzug, weder schwul noch an Aids erkrankt zu sein, und liefert sich sogar noch am Sterbebett heftige Wortgefechte mit dem schwarzen Pfleger Belize. Und dann bricht durch Priors Schlafzimmerdecke ein Engel.

 

«Du hast Angst. Ich auch. Das hat jeder im Land der Freiheit. Gott steh uns allen bei.» 

 

Tony Kushners von Fantasie überbordendes Theaterepos, das 1993 mit dem Pulitzerpreis ausgezeichnet wurde, stammt aus der Geburtsstunde des Neoliberalismus, der Reagan-Ära. «Engel in Amerika» ist auch heute die immer noch gültige, schonungslose Analyse einer Gesellschaft, die einen kollektiven Infekt in sich trägt und damit ringt, dessen Existenz zu akzeptieren. Dass Kushner darin mit Roy Cohn dem ehemaligen Anwalt des zurzeit amtierenden US-Präsidenten ein literarisches Denkmal setzte, ist dabei weit mehr als ein Augenzwinkern der Zeitgeschichte.

Der australische Regisseur Simon Stone liest Kushner aus der Perspektive unseres Jahrtausends, in dem der neoliberale Geist sich unwidersprochen in allen Lebensbereichen eingenistet hat. Seine mit dem Nestroy-Preis ausgezeichnete Inszenierung kommt nun nach München, wo mit dem Aids-Memorial des Künstlers Wolfgang Tillmans an prominenter Stelle in der Stadt an die Opfer der Krankheit und an die Menschen erinnert wird, die heute mit Aids leben.


Übernahme der Inszenierung des Theaeter Basel

Künstlerische Leitung

Inszenierung Simon Stone
Bühne Ralph Myers
Kostüme Mel Page
Musik Stefan Gregory