Die Verlorenen (The lost)

DIE VERLORENEN (THE LOST)
by Ewald Palmetshofer
World Premiere/Commissioned Work
Premiere 19. October 2019
Residenztheater
2 Hours 40 Minutes
1 Break
Recommended for ages 14 and above

Play of the Year 2020 (Critics’ Poll in Theater Heute magazine)

Invited to the 45th Mülheimer Theatertagen 2020

 

With the words «hello? / can anybody hear us?» the Austrian dramatist Ewald Palmetshofer opens his latest stage play, a highly musical spoken score in a powerful rhythmic form. At its centre is Clara, who has now reached a turning point after the failure of her marriage and returns to the abandoned house of her grandmother. But even here her old life and her difficult relationship with her 13-year-old son catch up with her.

 

«I come from here I don’t have any more background I hope that’s enough»

 

«They are created in no one’s image. Heaven is empty and the creatures on Earth are left entirely to their own devices. Humanity is its own enduring task, a job it is impossible to finish; humanity is the energy-sapping toil of giving birth to itself. It is as if humanity constantly needs saving from death, from the realm of things, from the clutches of fatal objectification, diminution and profanisation. As if its immortality has to be fought for, conjuring up its resurrection, its establishment. As if we can still pray, we raise our voices and direct them outside, where there is no one.» Ewald Palmetshofer

 

Ewald Palmetshofer, one of the most forthright dramatists of the present day, tells of people who have become detached from their identity as human beings, of the hollowing out of language and political discourse.
With «The Lost» Resident Director Nora Schlocker directs the world premiere of a play by Ewald Palmetshofer for the third time.

About the author Ewald Palmetshofer

Born in Upper Austria in 1978. Studied Theology and Philosophy/Psychology at the University of Vienna. His plays «hamlet is dead. no gravity» (2007, director: Felicitas Brucker), «living. under glass» (2008, director: Sebastian Schug) and «faust is hungry and chokes on grete» (2009, director: Felicitas Brucker) each received their world premieres at the Vienna Schauspielhaus, where Palmetshofer was writer in residence from 2007 to 2008, guest dramaturg in 2009 and curated the series «The X Commandments» in 2010, as part of which the world premiere of his play «heartfelt. a daughter in time» was directed by Sebastian Schug. In 2010 «animal. let us say underclass» was given its world premiere Staatsschauspiel Dresden (director: Simone Blattner). «robbers.genital debts» had its world premiere at the Vienna Burgtheater in 2012 (director: Stephan Kimmig), followed in 2014 by «the unmarried woman» directed by Robert Borgmann, which was invited to the Berlin Theatertreffen. This play was also awarded the prestigious Mülheim Playwriting Prize in 2015. Palmetshofer’s plays have been translated into several languages. A volume of the dramatist’s collected stage plays was published in 2014 by S. Fischer Verlag entitled « faust is hungry and chokes on grete». From 2012 to 2015 he taught at the University of Applied Arts Vienna’s Institute of Language Arts. From 2015 to 2019 Ewald Palmetshofer was Dramaturg at Theater Basel, where the world premiere of his play «Edward II. I am Love» after Christopher Marlowe was co-produced with the Wiener Festwochen and the Vienna Schauspielhaus in 2015, directed by Nora Schlocker and subsequently invited to the Swiss Theatertreffen. In 2017 Nora Schlocker directed the world premiere of his drama «Before Sunrise» after Gerhart Hauptmann at Theater Basel (the production premiered in Munich at the Residenztheater on 29 November 2019) which was nominated for the Mülheim Playwriting Prize. In 2018 Stephan Kimmig directed Palmetshofers new version of the semi-opera «King Arthur» by Henry Purcell and John Dryden, also at Theater Basel. Ewald Palmetshofer was awarded the Else Lasker Schüler Playwriting Prize in 2018 and the Gert Jonke Prize in 2019. His play «The Lost», which was written on commission for the Residenztheater was the first premiere to open Andreas Beck’s artistic directorship was invited to the 45th Mülheimer Theatertage “Stücke 2020”.

He has been Dramaturg at the Residenztheater since the beginning of the 2019/2020 season.

Trailer

Artistic Direction

Direction Nora Schlocker
Stage Design Irina Schicketanz
Costume Design Marie Roth
Music Friederike Bernhardt
Lighting Tobias Löffler
Dramaturgy Constanze Kargl

Die Verlorenen

Residenztheater, 19.30 Uhr
Sa 29 Feb
Residenztheater, 15.00 Uhr
So 29 Mär
Residenztheater, 19.30 Uhr
Mo 27 Apr
DIE VERLORENEN
von Ewald Palmetshofer
Uraufführung/Auftragswerk
Premiere 19. Oktober 2019
Residenztheater
2 Stunden 40 Minuten
1 Pause
Altersempfehlung: ab 14 Jahren

Mit den Worten «hallo? / hört uns jemand?» eröffnet der österreichische Dramatiker Ewald Palmetshofer sein neuestes Theaterstück, eine hochmusikalische, rhythmisch stark geformte Sprachpartitur. Im Zentrum steht Clara, die nach dem Scheitern ihrer Ehe an einem Wendepunkt angelangt ist und sich ins verlassene Haus ihrer Großmutter zurückzieht. Doch auch dort wird sie von ihrem alten Leben und der schwierigen Beziehung zu ihrem 13-jährigen Sohn eingeholt.

 

«ich komm von hier mehr Herkunft hab ich nicht ich hoff, das reicht»

 

«Nach niemands Abbild sind sie geschaffen. Der Himmel ist leer, und die Geschöpfe auf Erden sind ganz auf sich allein gestellt. Der Mensch ist seine eigene fortwährende Aufgabe, eine unabschließbare Arbeit; der Mensch ist die kräftezehrende Mühsal, sich selbst hervorzubringen. Es ist, als müsste man den Menschen beständig vor dem Tod erretten, aus dem Reich der Dinge, vor dem Zugriff der tödlichen Versachlichung, Verminderung und Profanisierung. Als müsste man für seine Unsterblichkeit kämpfen, mit Worten seine Auferstehung, seine Aufrichtung herbeireden. Als ob man noch beten könnte, erhebt man die Stimme und richtet sie nach draußen, wo keiner ist.» Ewald Palmetshofer

 

Ewald Palmetshofer, einer der prononciertesten Gegenwartsdramatiker, erzählt von Menschen, denen die Selbstverständlichkeit Mensch zu sein abhandengekommen ist, von der Verrohung der Sprache und der politischen Diskurse.
Mit «Die Verlorenen» bringt Hausregisseurin Nora Schlocker zum dritten Mal ein Stück von Ewald Palmetshofer zur Uraufführung.

Zum Autor Ewald Palmetshofer

Geboren 1978 in Oberösterreich. Studium der Theologie und der Philosophie/Psychologie an der Universität Wien. Seine Stücke «hamlet ist tot. keine schwerkraft» (2007, Regie: Felicitas Brucker), «wohnen. unter glas» (2008, Regie: Sebastian Schug) und «faust hat hunger und verschluckt sich an einer grete» (2009, Regie: Felicitas Brucker) wurden am Schauspielhaus Wien uraufgeführt, wo Palmetshofer 2007 und 2008 Hausautor, 2009 Gastdramaturg und 2010 Kurator der Serie «Die X Gebote» war, in deren Rahmen sein Stück «herzwurst. immer alles eine tochter» von Sebastian Schug uraufgeführt wurde. 2010 fand am Staatsschauspiel Dresden die Uraufführung von «tier. man wird doch bitte unterschicht» (Regie: Simone Blattner) statt. 2012 wurde «räuber.schuldengenital» am Burgtheater Wien uraufgeführt (Regie: Stephan Kimmig), 2014 wurde ebendort «die unverheiratete» in der Inszenierung von Robert Borgmann uraufgeführt und zum Berliner Theatertreffen eingeladen. Das Stück wurde mit dem renommierten Mülheimer Dramatikerpreis 2015 ausgezeichnet. Palmetshofers Dramen wurden in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt. 2014 erschien im S. Fischer Verlag unter dem Titel «faust hat hunger und verschluckt sich an einer grete» ein Band mit den gesammelten Theaterstücken des Dramatikers. Von 2012 bis 2015 unterrichtete er am Institut für Sprachkunst der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien. Von 2015 bis 2019 war Ewald Palmetshofer Dramaturg am Theater Basel, wo sein Stück «Edward II. Die Liebe bin ich» nach Christopher Marlowe als Koproduktion mit den Wiener Festwochen und dem Schauspielhaus Wien in der Inszenierung von Nora Schlocker 2015 uraufgeführt und zum Schweizer Theatertreffen eingeladen wurde. 2017 wurde sein Drama «Vor Sonnenaufgang» (Münchner Premiere im Residenztheater am 29. November 2019) nach Gerhart Hauptmann von Nora Schlocker am Theater Basel uraufgeführt und für den Mülheimer Dramatikerpreis nominiert. 2018 inszenierte Stephan Kimmig ebendort Palmetshofers Neudichtung der Semi-Oper «König Arthur» von Henry Purcell und John Dryden. 2018 wurde Ewald Palmetshofer mit dem Else-Lasker-Schüler-Dramatikerpreis und 2019 mit dem Gert-Jonke-Preis ausgezeichnet. Seit der Spielzeit 2019/2020 ist er Dramaturg am Residenztheater.

Künstlerische Leitung

Inszenierung Nora Schlocker
Bühne Irina Schicketanz
Kostüme Marie Roth
Musik Friederike Bernhardt
Licht Tobias Löffler
Dramaturgie Constanze Kargl