Woyzeck

WOYZECK
by Georg Büchner
Premiere 31. January 2020
Residenztheater
3 Hours
1 Break
Recommended for ages 14 and above

Georg Büchner’s fragile fragment, one of the most important dramas in German literature, is based on the case of the soldier Woyzeck, who murdered his lover and was sentenced to death in 1824. Büchner was familiar with the facts of this historic criminal case which were detailed in legal, medical and psychological reports. He shows a murder of jealousy and the events that lead up to it: Woyzeck, «a good chap and a poor devil», forced onto the lowest level of society financially, humiliated by his superiors, experimented upon by science, is exposed to a radical lack of empathy from the world around him. As a result, he becomes guilty, once his fears, instincts and desires break out obscenely from inside him. However, «Woyzeck» goes far beyond this tragic individual case of a creature who has been mistreated. Büchner uses «the subject Woyzeck» to examine the question of our dependence on social conditions that «lie beyond us», on individual liberty and fatalistic determinism.

 

«Everyone is an abyss; it makes some people dizzy when they look down.»

 

«Woyzeck inhabits a social system that is shaped by brutality and that everyone is subject to without being aware of the fact. Those who subject Woyzeck to violence are themselves caught up in these overall circumstances. Büchner’s ability to present this brutalisation as one of language occupies the centre of the production. What Woyzeck remains, is blind power, both felt and exercised.» Ulrich Rasche

 

Ulrich Rasche, well known to Munich audiences since his productions of «The Robbers» and «Electra», is regarded as one of the most remarkable directors of his generation due to the strict formality of his choral projects and his imposing stage designs. With this production from Theater Basel he was invited to the Berlin Theatertreffen 2018.

 

Transfer of the production from Theater Basel, supported by the Theaterverein Basel

Trailer

Cast

Mariana Beleaeva
Viola
Jenny Scherling
Viola
Josef Reßle
Piano
Victor Alcantara
Piano
Fabian Löbhard
Schlagzeug
Fabian Strauss
Schlagzeug
Ricardo Döringer
Fagott
Tadija Mincic
Fagott
Heiko Jung
E-Bass
Felix Renner
E-Bass
Alexander Vičar
Synthesizer
Hans Könnecke
Synthesizer

Artistic Direction

Direction und Stage Design Ulrich Rasche
Bühnenbildmitarbeit Sabine Mäder
Costume Design Sara Schwartz
Composition und Musical Direction Monika Roscher
Sound Design Alexander Vičar
Choral Direction Toni Jessen
Lighting Cornelius Hunziker, Tobias Löffler
Dramaturgy Constanze Kargl

Woyzeck

Premiere
Residenztheater
Fr 31 Jan
WOYZECK
von Georg Büchner
Münchner Premiere
Premiere 31. Januar 2020
Residenztheater
Altersempfehlung: ab 14 Jahren

Georg Büchners zerbrechliches Fragment, eines der bedeutendsten Dramen der deutschen Literatur, basiert auf dem Fall des Soldaten Woyzeck, der seine Geliebte erstach und dafür 1824 zum Tode verurteilt wurde. Büchner waren die Fakten des historischen Kriminalfalls bekannt, über den juristische, medizinische und psychologische Gutachten verfasst wurden. Er zeigt einen Eifersuchtsmord und seine Vorgeschichte: Woyzeck, «guter Kerl und armer Teufel», finanziell an den untersten Rand der Gesellschaft gedrängt, von seinen Vorgesetzten gedemütigt, von der Wissenschaft zum Studienobjekt gemacht, ist dem radikalen Mangel an Empathie seiner Umwelt ausgeliefert. So wird er schuldig, nachdem seine Ängste, Triebe und Begierden obszön aufbrechen. Doch «Woyzeck» geht weit über den traurigen Einzelfall einer geschundenen Kreatur hinaus. Büchner untersucht am «Subjekt Woyzeck» die Frage unserer Abhängigkeit von gesellschaftlichen Bedingungen, die «außer uns liegen», nach individueller Freiheit und schicksalhafter Determination.

 

«Jeder Mensch ist ein Abgrund; es schwindelt einem, wenn man hinabsieht.»

 

«Woyzeck lebt innerhalb eines gesellschaftlichen Systems, das von Brutalität geprägt ist, der alle unterliegen, ohne davon zu wissen. Diejenigen, die Woyzeck Gewalt antun, sind selbst im allgemeinen Zusammenhang gefangen. Büchners Fähigkeit, die herrschende Verrohung auch als eine der Sprache darzustellen, steht im Mittelpunkt der Inszenierung. Was Woyzeck bleibt, ist blinde Gewalt, erlebte und ausgeübte.» Ulrich Rasche

 

Ulrich Rasche, dem Münchner Publikum seit seinen Inszenierungen von «Die Räuber» und «Elektra» bestens bekannt, gilt aufgrund seiner formstrengen Chorprojekte und überwältigenden Bühnenbilder als einer der außergewöhnlichsten Regisseure seiner Generation und wurde mit dieser Inszenierung des Theater Basel zum Berliner Theatertreffen 2018 eingeladen.

 

Übernahme der Inszenierung des Theater Basel, gefördert vom Theaterverein Basel

Künstlerische Leitung

Inszenierung und Bühne Ulrich Rasche
Bühnenbildmitarbeit Sabine Mäder
Kostüme Sara Schwartz
Komposition Monika Roscher
Sounddesign Alexander Maschke
Chorleitung Toni Jessen