Die Unerhörten (The outrageous ones)

Marstall, 20.00 o'clock
Tue 21 Dec
Marstall, 20.00 o'clock
Tue 04 Jan
Marstall, 19.00 o'clock
Sun 23 Jan
Marstall, 20.00 o'clock
Mon 24 Jan
Marstall, 20.00 o'clock
Fri 28 Jan
DIE UNERHÖRTEN (THE OUTRAGEOUS ONES)
Technoid love letters for ancient heroines after Sappho, Ovid, Euripides et al.
Premiere 20. November 2021
Marstall
2 Hours
No break
Recommended for ages 14 and above

Strobe lights are used in this production.

«Maybe if we still had all of Sappho’s poems, no one would talk about Homer any more,» Friedrich Schlegel once wrote about Sappho, the leading female poet of the ancient world. Barely two hundred fragments survive from her collected works that comprised some twelve thousand verses, with the result that her name is now associated more with Grillparzer’s tragedy than her own passionate, monumental hymns in praise of life, love and women.

The director Elsa-Sophie Jach, who recently made her debut at the Residenztheater with her production of Herbert Achternbusch’s «Heart of Glass», brings the outrageous love poetry of «Europe’s first poet» to new life. Known for a directing style characterised by precise language and strong visuals, she hunts down the forgotten remains of Sappho’s poems, condenses them into a chorus and, on a tour through the literary canon together with the Munich techno live band SLATEC, she exposes the systematic erasure of the female voice, its silencing and the need for it to empower itself.

«There are countless female figures in ancient mythology who lose their voices violently for rejecting a desire that is usually divine and usually male – and then raise those voices again all the more triumphantly: Echo, who is actually only allowed to repeat the final syllables of what has already been said, changes their meaning through her choice of words, and this continues to reverberate inside our heads. Cassandra, who prophecies the fall of Troy and whose prophecies no one believes.  Philomela, whose tongue is cut out so that she cannot tell that she has been raped, but instead weaves the story into a carpet, making it both public and political. We want to celebrate these outrageous women in the love letters by Sappho that we have developed further, we want to challenge and summon them, ask them new questions and connect them with our reality. In a chorus and with music.  Just like in ancient times. Only differently.» Elsa-Sophie Jach

Cast

Roman Sladek
Live-Musik (Posaune)
Georg Stirnweiß
Live-Musik (Synthesizer)
Marco Dufner
Live-Musik (Schlagzeug)
Josy Friebel
Live-Musik (Sound)

Artistic Direction

Direction Elsa-Sophie Jach
Musical Direction Max Kühn
Stage Design Aleksandra Pavlović
Costume Design Johanna Stenzel
Lighting Barbara Westernach
Dramaturgy Stefanie Hackl

Die Unerhörten

Premiere
Marstall
Sa 20 Nov
DIE UNERHÖRTEN
Technoide Liebesbriefe für antike Heldinnen nach Sappho, Ovid, Euripides u.a.
Premiere 20. November 2021
Marstall
Altersempfehlung: ab 14 Jahren

«Hätten wir noch die sämtlichen sapphischen Gedichte, vielleicht würden wir nirgends an Homer erinnert», schrieb einst Friedrich Schlegel über Sappho – die bedeutendste Lyrikerin der Antike. Nur knapp zweihundert Fragmente ihres zwölftausend Verse umfassenden Gesamtwerks blieben erhalten, sodass ihr Name heute eher mit Grillparzers Tragödie assoziiert wird als mit ihren leidenschaftlichen, monumentalen Hymnen an das Leben, die Liebe und die Frauen.

 

Die Regisseurin Elsa-Sophie Jach, die mit ihrer Inszenierung von Herbert Achternbuschs «Herz aus Glas» zuletzt ihr Debüt am Residenztheater gab, erweckt die unerhörte Liebeslyrik von «Europas erster Dichterin» zu neuem Leben. Bekannt für ihre sprachlich präzise und bildstarke Regiehandschrift, spürt sie die vergessenen Reste der sapphischen Dichtung auf, verdichtet sie chorisch und deckt auf dem Weg durch den literarischen Kanon – gemeinsam mit der Münchner Techno-Liveband SLATEC – die systematische Auslöschung der weiblichen Stimme, ihr Verstummen und die Notwendigkeit ihrer Selbstermächtigung auf.

 

«In der antiken Mythologie gibt es unzählige Frauenfiguren, die ihre Stimme – aufgrund ihrer Zurückweisung eines zumeist göttlichen, zumeist männlichen Begehrens – gewaltsam verlieren und sie dann umso triumphierender neu erheben: Echo, die eigentlich nur die letzten Silben des bereits Gesagten wiederholen darf, diesem aber durch ihre Wortwahl einen veränderten Sinn gibt, der in unseren Köpfen wieder und wieder nachhallt. Kassandra, die den Untergang Trojas prophezeit und deren Weissagungen niemand Glauben schenkt. Philomela, der die Zunge herausgeschnitten wird, damit sie nicht von ihrer Vergewaltigung berichten kann, die aber stattdessen ihre Geschichte in einen Teppich webt, sie somit öffentlich und politisch macht. Diese unerhörten Frauen wollen wir in Sapphos weitergesponnenen Liebesbriefen feiern, sie herausfordern, beschwören, neu befragen und mit unserer Realität verknüpfen. Im Chor und mit Musik. Wie in der Antike eben. Nur anders.» Elsa-Sophie Jach

Künstlerische Leitung

Inszenierung Elsa-Sophie Jach
Musikalische Leitung Max Kühn
Live-Musik SLATEC
Bühne Aleksandra Pavlović
Kostüme Johanna Stenzel