Es waren ihrer sechs (Six of them)

Marstall, 20.00 o'clock
Tue 31 May
Marstall, 20.00 o'clock
Sat 04 Jun
Marstall, 20.00 o'clock
Wed 15 Jun
ES WAREN IHRER SECHS (SIX OF THEM)
freely adapted from the novel by Alfred Neumann in an arrangement by Tomasz Śpiewak
World premiere
Premiere 08. October 2021
Marstall
1 Hour 30 Minutes
No break
Recommended for ages 14 and above

When the novel «Six of Them» by the émigré author Alfred Neumann, then living in Los Angeles, was published in 1945, it generated considerable controversy in Germany. Based on an article from «Time Magazine» about the leafleting campaign and execution of the members of the White Rose, Neumann created a «freely imagined work» from the lives and actions of the resistance fighters. As he put it: «It’s not about the Scholls. It’s not even about the Möllers, who I invented and whose name, language and nationality are interchangeable. It is purely about presenting an eternal idea.»

 

The Polish director Michał Borczuch and the dramaturg and writer Tomasz Śpiewak take this «eternal idea» of young people’s resistance against totalitarian systems of rule as the starting point for their adaptation of the novel. It is an attempt to reconstruct both the intellectual world of Neumann’s protagonists as well as the real actions of the White Rose. Borczuch’s evening is an experiment in which theatre meets film, getting closer to Neumann’s characters through the phases of youth, writing the first leaflets, arrest, imprisonment and execution. Beyond this, in each situation Borczuch looks for a connection with the present and current forms of youth protest.

 

Following the film that explored the production as part of the digital series «Resi sendet» in the spring of 2021, Michał Borczuch now develops his work further for its analogue premiere in the Marstall. Borczuch’s directorial signature is one of the most distinctive in the contemporary Polish theatre scene. His works operate in territory where authenticity and fiction bleed into each other and play on the reciprocal influences between life and theatre. «Six of Them» is his first work in Munich.

DIGITAL BOOKSHELF

IN COLLABORATION WITH BÜCHER LENTNER

Recommended reading from our dramaturgs
 

«Es waren ihrer sechs»
by Alfred Neumann
With material on the history of the book’s reception and an afterword by Peter Graf
(Hardback. Verlag das kulturelle Gedächtnis, 2018)
 


«Flamme sein!»
Hans Scholl and the White Rose
by Robert M. Zoske
(Hardback. C.H. Beck, 2018. 2nd edition)



«Die Weiße Rose»
How perfectly normal Germans became resistance fighters

by Miriam Gebhardt
(Paperback. Pantheon Verlag, 2018. 2nd edition)



«Wie schwer ein Menschenleben wiegt»
Sophie Scholl. A biography
by Maren Gottschalk
(Hardback. C.H. Beck, 2020. 2nd edition)



«Alexander Schmorell, Christoph Probst: Gesammelte Briefe.»
Edited by Christiane Moll
(Hardback. Lukas Verlag für Kunst- und Geistesgeschichte, 2011)

Trailer

Artistic Direction

Direction Michał Borczuch
Stage Design und Costume Design Dorota Nawrot
Video Wojciech Sobolewski
Music Bartosz Dziadosz
Lighting Jacqueline Sobiszewski
Dramaturgy Tomasz Śpiewak, Michael Billenkamp

Es waren ihrer sechs

Premiere
Marstall, 20.00 Uhr
Fr 08 Okt
Karten ab 15.09.2021
Marstall, 19.00 Uhr
So 17 Okt
Karten ab 15.09.2021
Marstall, 20.00 Uhr
Mo 25 Okt
Karten ab 15.09.2021
ES WAREN IHRER SECHS
frei nach dem gleichnamigen Roman von Alfred Neumann
Uraufführung
Premiere 08. Oktober 2021
Marstall
Altersempfehlung: ab 14 Jahren

Als 1945 der Roman «Es waren ihrer sechs» des nach Los Angeles emigrierten Autors Alfred Neumann erscheint, löst er in Deutschland eine heftige öffentliche Kontroverse aus. Basierend auf einem Zeitungsartikel aus dem «Time Magazine» über die Flugblattaktionen und die Hinrichtung der Mitglieder der Weißen Rose entwickelte Neumann aus dem Leben und Wirken der Widerstandskämpfer*innen ein «freies Spiel der Fantasie», wie er es nannte: «Es geht nicht um die Geschwister Scholl. Es geht nicht einmal um die von mir geschaffenen Geschwister Möller, deren Name und Sprache und Nationalität getrost ausgewechselt werden können. Es geht nur um die Gestaltung einer ewigen Idee.»

 

Der polnische Regisseur Michał Borczuch und der Dramaturg und Autor Tomasz Śpiewak nehmen diese «ewige Idee» vom jugendlichen Widerstand gegen totalitäre Herrschaftssysteme zum Ausgangspunkt ihrer Bearbeitung des Romans. Es ist der Versuch, sowohl die Gedankenwelt von Neumanns Protagonist*innen als auch das reale Wirken der Weißen Rose zu rekonstruieren. Borczuchs Abend ist eine Versuchsanordnung an der Schnittstelle von Theater und Film, die sich über die Stationen Jugend, Verfassen der ersten Flugblätter, Verhaftung, Gefängnis und Hinrichtung Neumanns Figuren annähert. Darüber hinaus sucht Borczuch, in jeder der Stationen eine Brücke in unsere Gegenwart und zu heutigen jugendlichen Protestformen zu schlagen.

 

Nach dem filmischen Inszenierungseinblick für das Digitalformat «Resi sendet» im Frühjahr 2021 entwickelt Michał Borczuch seine Arbeit für die analoge Premiere im Marstall nochmals weiter. Borczuchs Regiehandschrift zählt zu den markantesten der gegenwärtigen polnischen Theaterszene. In seinen Arbeiten spielt er mit dem Grenzbereich zwischen Authentizität und Fiktion sowie der gegenseitigen Einflussnahme von Leben und Theater. «Es waren ihrer sechs» ist seine erste Arbeit in München.

DIGITALER BÜCHERTISCH

IN ZUSAMMENARBEIT MIT BÜCHER LENTNER

Literaturempfehlungen aus der Dramatugie
 

«Es waren ihrer sechs»
von Alfred Neumann
Mit Materialien zur Rezeptionsgeschichte, benachwortet von Peter Graf
(Gebunden. Verlag das kulturelle Gedächtnis, 2018)
 


«Flamme sein!»
Hans Scholl und die Weiße Rose
von Robert M. Zoske
(Gebunden. C.H. Beck, 2018. 2. Auflage)



«Die Weiße Rose»
Wie aus ganz normalen Deutschen Widerstandskämpfer wurden
von Miriam Gebhardt
(Kartoniert. Pantheon Verlag, 2018. 2. Auflage)



«Wie schwer ein Menschenleben wiegt»
Sophie Scholl. Eine Biografie
von Maren Gottschalk
(Gebunden. C.H. Beck, 2020. 2. Auflage)



«Alexander Schmorell, Christoph Probst: Gesammelte Briefe.»
Herausgegeben von Christiane Moll
(Gebunden. Lukas Verlag für Kunst- und Geistesgeschichte, 2011)

Künstlerische Leitung

Inszenierung Michał Borczuch
Bühne und Kostüme Dorota Nawrot
Video Wojciech Sobolewski
Musik Bartosz Dziadosz
Licht Jacqueline Sobiszewski
Dramaturgie Tomasz Śpiewak, Michael Billenkamp