Residenztheater, 19.30 o'clock
Thu 13 Apr
Gastspiel, 19.30 o'clock
Sat 22 Apr
Gastspiel, 19.30 o'clock
Sun 23 Apr
DIE DREI MUSKETIERE (THE THREE MUSKETEERS)
after Alexandre Dumas in an adaptation by Antonio Latella and Federico Bellini
2 Hours
No break
Recommended for ages 12 and above

The Three Musketeers, of whom there are actually four, appear and think about their loneliness. Can their famous slogan «One for all and all for one» be explained mathematically? Who is «the one» here? And who are «all»? They transform themselves into their own servants and horses and reconstruct Dumas’s story – and above all they question it. The musketeers are fighting for their lives and the actors are acting as if their lives depend on it.

In his adventure novel «The Three Musketeers», first published in 1844, Alexandre Dumas confronts us with a series of literary inconsistencies that the Italian director Antonio Latella, Theatre Director of the Venice Biennale since 2017, seizes upon to engage in a duel with the original material. In the tradition of Commedia dell’Arte the actors challenge it to a fight with words, weapons and a healthy dose of Italian anarchy. Hope dies last.

 

«Friendship has now become a convenience. It is no longer actually a necessity. In the past it was almost more important than the relationship one had with one’s partner. If ‹All for one and one for all› is true, then who is this one? And who are the all who are for that one? Is there one person for whom everyone would be willing to die? Who might that be? At present the situation is that I am one and at the same time all – and at the same time one who does not succeed in being all. We might want to but we cannot all be equal and being equal to each other does not automatically make us a whole. We do not succeed in being a whole.» Antonio Latella

Production transferred from Theater Basel

Trailer

Artistic Direction

Direction, Spatial Design und Music Antonio Latella
Costume Design Simona D'Amico
Lighting Gerrit Jurda
Choreography und Fight Training Francesco Manetti
Dramaturgy Carmen Bach

Die drei Musketiere

Premiere
Cuvilliéstheater
Fr 07 Feb
DIE DREI MUSKETIERE
nach Alexandre Dumas in einer Bearbeitung von Antonio Latella und Federico Bellini
Münchner Premiere
Premiere 07. Februar 2020
Cuvilliéstheater
Altersempfehlung: ab 12 Jahren

Die drei Musketiere, die eigentlich vier sind, treten auf und denken über ihr Alleinsein nach. Kann man die berühmte Formel «Einer für alle, alle für einen» mathematisch erklären? Wer ist eigentlich «der eine»? Und wer sind überhaupt «alle»? Sie verwandeln sich in ihre eigenen Diener und Pferde, stellen Dumas’ Geschichte nach – und vor allem infrage. Die Musketiere kämpfen um Leib und Leben, die Schauspieler spielen sich um Kopf und Kragen.

 

In seinem 1844 veröffentlichten Abenteuerroman «Die drei Musketiere» konfrontiert uns Alexandre Dumas mit einigen literarischen Unstimmigkeiten, die der italienische Regisseur Antonio Latella, seit 2017 Theaterintendant der Biennale Venedig, zum Anlass nimmt, ein Duell mit dem Stoff auszutragen. In der Tradition der Commedia dell’Arte fordern die Schauspieler ihn mit Worten, Waffen und viel italienischer Anarchie zum Kampf. Die Hoffnung stirbt zuletzt.

 

«Freundschaft ist heute eher eine Bequemlichkeit, keine Notwendigkeit mehr im eigentlichen Sinn. Früher war sie fast wichtiger als die Beziehung zum eigenen Partner. Wenn ‹Alle für einen und einer für alle› gilt, wer ist dieser eine? Und wer sind alle, die für den einen sind? Gibt es den einen, für den alle bereit wären zu sterben? Wer ist das? In der heutigen Zeit ist es genau so, dass ich einer bin und gleichzeitig alle, und gleichzeitig einer, dem es nicht gelingt, alle zu sein. Wir wollen, aber können nicht alle gleich sein, und einander gleich sein ist auch nicht gleich ein Ganzes. Es gelingt uns nicht, ein Ganzes zu sein.» Antonio Latella

 

Übernahme der Inszenierung des Theater Basel

Künstlerische Leitung

Inszenierung, Raum und Musik Antonio Latella
Kostüme Simona D'Amico
Choreographie und Kampftraining Francesco Manetti