Lulu

Residenztheater, 19.30 o'clock
Sat 29 Jan
Residenztheater, 20.00 o'clock
Fri 04 Feb
Residenztheater, 19.30 o'clock
Tue 15 Feb
Residenztheater, 20.00 o'clock
Mon 21 Feb
Residenztheater, 20.00 o'clock
Tue 01 Mar
Residenztheater, 19.30 o'clock
Mon 14 Mar
Residenztheater, 18.30 o'clock
Sun 20 Mar
LULU
von Frank Wedekind in einer Bearbeitung von Bastian Kraft
1 Hour 45 Minutes
No break
Altersempfehlung: ab 14 Jahren

The Munich dramatist Frank Wedekind spent over twenty years working on what he called his monster tragedy which, due to harsh censorship, would never be performed in his home city during his lifetime. It was too indecent, too lewd. In Lulu, Wedekind created a snake, a creature «to tempt, to seduce» – and to murder. For her lovers, Lulu is like a screen onto which they can project their desires – whatever a man wants, he will find it in her. And it goes further: Lulu’s seductions drive an entire succession of her lovers in Munich and Paris to their deaths until she ultimately throws herself into death’s arms in the back streets of London.

 

«When I saw myself in the mirror, I wanted to be a man … My husband!»

 

In his prologue Wedekind reveals the name of an even more dangerous predator present in this play: «Esteemed audience!» Because it is not only for the men in the play that Lulu is a value, something that can be measured in terms of one’s own increased pleasure. She must also continuously expose herself to the objectifying gaze of the audience. Lulu displays projections from both the public and the director, she is a screen upon which images of women are dissected. Who actually lies behind these two erotic syllables? Director Bastian Kraft explores this question by making Lulu speak only with Lulu. Played by three actresses, Lulu works through her own story in a polyphonic dialogue with herself. In doing so she takes control of her own destiny. The linear plot dissolves and Lulu encounters her lovers by playing the men herself. As a result, the power of desire shifts into the erotic tension of blurring gender boundaries. And the thrill of cross dressing does not reveal a female image but Lulu’s perspective on the male world that Wedekind portrays in this play.

 

Bastian Kraft’s multimedia adaptations pare down literary classics to their essential core characters, giving them a new narrative voice and point of view, and have taken him to the German-speaking world’s most prestigious stages. With «Lulu» here in Munich he will now continue his intensive exploration of video art on stage, in which – for all its formality – he nevertheless succeeds in placing the actor at the centre of his multi award-winning work. 

Trailer

Artistic Direction

Direction Bastian Kraft
Stage Design Peter Baur
Costume Design Dagmar Bald
Music Arthur Fussy
Lighting Monika Pangerl
Video Kevin Graber
Dramaturgy Bendix Fesefeldt

Lulu

Premiere
Marstall
Fr 22 Nov
LULU
von Frank Wedekind
Premiere 22. November 2019
Marstall
Altersempfehlung: ab 14 Jahren

Über zwanzig Jahre lang arbeitete der Münchner Dramatiker Frank Wedekind an der von ihm sogenannten Monstretragödie, die aufgrund der harschen Zensur zu seinen Lebzeiten keine Aufführung in München erlebte. Zu anrüchig, zu lüstern. Wedekind schuf mit Lulu eine Schlange, geschaffen, um «zu locken, zu verführen» – und um zu morden. Für ihre Liebhaber scheint Lulu Projektionsfläche – was Mann wünscht, er findet es in ihr. Und mehr: Lulus Verführungen treiben ihre Liebhaber*innen in München und Paris reihenweise in den Tod, bis sie sich schließlich in den Londoner Gassen ihrem eigenen Tod in die Arme wirft.

 

«Als ich mich im Spiegel sah, hätte ich ein Mann sein wollen …
Mein Mann!»

 

Bereits im Prolog teilt Wedekind uns allerdings den Namen eines noch gefährlicheren Raubtiers mit, das dieses Stück bevölkert: «Verehrtes Publikum!» Denn nicht nur für die Männer in ihrer Welt ist Lulu ein Wert, etwas, das sich anhand des eigenen Lustgewinns bemessen lässt. Auch vor dem Publikum muss sie sich fortwährend dem objektivierenden Blick aussetzen. Auch für Publikum und Regisseur ist Lulu Projektionsfläche, auf der sich Frauenbilder sezieren lassen. Wer also steckt hinter diesen beiden erotischen Silben? Diese Frage ergründet der Regisseur Bastian Kraft, indem Lulu nur mit Lulu spricht. Gespielt von drei Schauspielerinnen, verhandelt Lulu in einem vielstimmigen Dialog mit sich selbst ihre eigene Geschichte. Sie übernimmt hiermit ihr Schicksal. Der lineare Handlungsverlauf löst sich auf, und ihren Liebhabern begegnet Lulu, indem sie die Männer selbst spielt. So verschiebt sich die Macht des Begehrens in das erotische Spannungsfeld verschwimmender Geschlechtergrenzen. Und die Lust an der Travestie zeigt kein Frauenbild, sondern Lulus Blick auf die Männerbilder, die Wedekind in diesem Stück zeichnet.

 

Bastian Krafts multimediale Bearbeitungen verdichten literarische Klassiker auf ihr Kernpersonal, dem sie eine neue Erzählperspektive und Stimme geben, und haben ihn an die wichtigsten Bühnen des deutschsprachigen Raums geführt. Mit «Lulu» wird er nun in München seine intensive Beschäftigung mit Videokunst auf der Bühne fortsetzen, wobei es ihm gelingt, trotz formaler Zugriffe stets die Schauspieler*innen in den Mittelpunkt seiner Arbeit zu stellen, wofür er vielfach ausgezeichnet worden ist.

Künstlerische Leitung

Inszenierung Bastian Kraft
Bühne Peter Baur
Kostüme Dagmar Bald
Musik Arthur Fussy
Video Kevin Graber