Thom Luz

Resident Director

Thom Luz was born in Zurich, studied at the Zürcher Hochschule für Musik und Theater and directs productions for both fringe and state theatres in Switzerland, Germany and France. In 2014 he was voted Young Director of the Year by the critics in the annual poll for «Theater heute» magazine. Thom Luz became a Resident Director at Theater Basel in 2015 and his productions there were invited to the Heidelberger Stückemarkt, the Autorentheatertage at the Deutsches Theater Berlin, the Kontakt International Theatre Festival in Toruń, the Maillon in Strasbourg and the Théâtre Nanterre-Amandiers in Paris. «Atlas of the Outlying Islands» (2015, Schauspiel Hannover), «Sad Magician» (2017, Staatstheater Mainz) and «Girl from the Fog Machine Factory» (2019, Gessnerallee Zürich) were each invited to the Berlin Theatertreffen. His productions «When I Die», «Unusual Weather Phenomena Project» and «Girl From The Fog Machine Factory» have toured throughout Europe, to venues including the Stadtsschowburg in Amsterdam, Vidy Lausanne, Nanterre-Amandiers in Paris and festivals in Hamburg, Marseille, Montpellier, Warsaw, Moscow, Jerusalem and Reykjavík. He was awarded the Swiss Theatre Prize in 2019.

He has been Resident Director at the Residenztheater since the 2019/2020 season.

 

Productions

Disappearing, fading away, vanishing and escaping – Aristophanes’s comedies deal with everything in the world that is ephemeral: life, happiness, property, knowledge and trust. They tell us about the complicated business of being human, about the problem of the just distribution of wealth, about greed, twisted rhetoric, and the eternal incompatibility between theory and practice.

Die Wolken, die Vögel, der Reichtum (The clouds, the birds, wealth)
Cuvilliéstheater, 20.00 o'clock
Sat 14 Jan
Cuvilliéstheater, 19.30 o'clock
Sat 21 Jan

Chekhov’s texts, first and foremost his youthful fragment «Platonov», form the starting point for a new evening of musical theatre by resident director Thom Luz. He has borrowed the title from a Russian film version of «Platonov» from 1977 and assembles a society that attempts to discern the melody of the joys and horrors of the future from the songs of a long-forgotten time.

Warten auf Platonow (Waiting for Platonow)
Cuvilliéstheater, 19.00 o'clock
Wed 07 Dec
Cuvilliéstheater, 19.00 o'clock
Wed 18 Jan
Cuvilliéstheater, 19.00 o'clock
Thu 19 Jan

Thom Luz

Thom Luz, geboren in Zürich, studierte an der Zürcher Hochschule für Musik und Theater und inszeniert sowohl in der freien Szene als auch an Stadttheatern in der Schweiz, Deutschland und Frankreich. 2014 wurde er vom Fachmagazin «Theater heute» zum Nachwuchsregisseur des Jahres gewählt. Seit 2015 ist Thom Luz Hausregisseur am Theater Basel und erhielt mit seinen Inszenierungen Einladungen zum Heidelberger Stückemarkt, den Autorentheatertagen am Deutschen Theater Berlin und zum Kontakt International Theatre Festival Toruń, an das Maillon Straßburg und an das Théâtre Nanterre-Amandiers Paris. Mit «Atlas der abgelegenen Inseln» (2015, Schauspiel Hannover), «Traurige Zauberer» (2017, Staatstheater Mainz) und «Girl from the Fog Machine Factory» (2019, Gessnerallee Zürich) war er zum Berliner Theatertreffen eingeladen. Seine Produktionen «When I Die», «Unusual Weather Phenomena Project» und «Girl From The Fog Machine Factory» touren durch Europa, Stationen waren u. a. die Stadtsschowburg Amsterdam, Vidy Lausanne, Nanterre-Amandiers Paris sowie Festivals in Hamburg, Marseille, Montpellier, Warschau, Moskau, Jerusalem und Reykjavík. 2019 erhält er den Schweizer Theaterpreis.

Ab der Spielzeit 2019/2020 ist er Hausregisseur am Residenztheater.

Stücke

Büchners Lustspiel beginnt als scheinbar klassische Verwechslungskomödie, endet aber als Traumspiel über Sinn und Unsinn des Daseins, den Zweifel an der Wirklichkeit und die Sehnsucht, sich in einen Automaten zu verwandeln. Hausregisseur Thom Luz nimmt es zum Anlass für einen musiktheatralischen Streifzug durch Büchners heiter-verzweifelten Kosmos.

Leonce und Lena
Residenztheater, 20.00 Uhr
Di 21 Apr
Residenztheater, 19.30 Uhr
Mi 29 Apr

Thom Luz und sein spielendes und musizierendes Ensemble erschaffen im Marstall eine Münchner Fassung der Ives'schen Symphonie «Central Park in the Dark»: einen akustischen Spaziergang zum Olympiapark. Mit dabei: Musik aus verschiedenen Jahrhunderten, berühmte Persönlichkeiten aus Kunst und Wissenschaft – und je dunkler es wird, umso mehr auch flüsternde Stadtgespenster und begrabene bayerische Hunde.

Olympiapark in the Dark
Marstall, 20.00 Uhr
Mi 22 Apr
Marstall, 20.00 Uhr
Mo 27 Apr