Claudia Bauer

Born in Landshut in Lower Bavaria, studied Acting and Directing at the Hochschule für Schauspielkunst Ernst Busch in Berlin. From 1999 to 2004, she was Artistic Director of Theaterhaus Jena and from 2005 to 2007 Resident Director at the Neues Theater Halle. She was also a visiting lecturer in Acting and Directing at the Hochschule für Schauspielkunst Ernst Busch in Berlin. At Schauspiel Leipzig, where she has been Resident Director since 2014, her productions have included «And Then» by Wolfram Höll (world premiere 2014, Schauspiel Leipzig, invited to the Heidelberger Stückemarkt, the Mülheimer Theatertagen and the Autorentheatertage at the Deutsches Theater Berlin 2014), «The Exhausted or The Something That We Are» by Bernhard Studlar (world premiere 2015), «Metropolis» after Fritz Lang and Thea von Harbou (2016), «89/90» by Peter Richter (2016, invited to the Berlin Theatertreffen 2017), «ghosts are only people» by Katja Brunner (2017), «Ubu Roi/The Trial of Ubu» by Alfred Jarry/Simon Stephens (2018) and «Sweet Bird of Youth» by Tennessee Williams (2019). She has also directed at stages including Schauspielhaus Graz, Theater Basel, Theater Dortmund, Theater Bonn, Schauspiel Hannover and Nationaltheater Mannheim. She recently directed «Germania » after Heiner Müller at the Volksbühne Berlin. With «The Imaginary Invalid or The Enema of Pure Reason» Claudia Bauer will direct her third world premiere of a play by PeterLicht after «The Misanthrope» (world premiere 2016, Theater Basel) and «Tartuffe or the Philosopher’s Swine» (world premiere 2018, Theater Basel, invited to the Berlin Theatertreffen 2019).

 

Productions

In her new work, the director Claudia Bauer, who has been invited to the Berlin Theatertreffen four times and is renowned for her work with fast and furious acting ensembles, now tackles someone who typifies Munich, the brilliant comedian Karl Valentin. In her usual, opulent stage language she will devise a homage to the Bavarian whose anarchic approach to language led the critic Alfred Kerr to invent the term «Wortzerklauberer», someone who steals words and tears them to pieces.

Valentiniade. Sportliches Singspiel mit allen Mitteln (VALENTINIADE. SPORTING SINGSPIEL WITH NO HOLDS BARRED)
Residenztheater, 19.30 o'clock
Wed 19 Jun
Residenztheater, 19.30 o'clock
Mon 24 Jun
Residenztheater, 20.00 o'clock
Wed 10 Jul

In Beckett's 1948 classic of absurd theatre, the main characters wait in an open field, torn between a mood of optimism and resignation, for the ominous Godot. In laconic language, Beckett creates one of the most famous and ambiguous pairs of comedians in theatre literature, reinterpreted by in-house director Claudia Bauer.

Warten auf Godot (WAITING FOR GODOT)
Premiere
Residenztheater
Fri 28 Mar

Claudia Bauer

Geboren im niederbayerischen Landshut, studierte Schauspiel und Regie an der Hochschule für Schauspielkunst Ernst Busch in Berlin. Von 1999 bis 2004 war sie künstlerische Leiterin des Theaterhauses Jena, von 2005 bis 2007 Hausregisseurin am Neuen Theater Halle. An der Hochschule für Schauspielkunst Ernst Busch in Berlin hatte sie eine Gastprofessur im Bereich Schauspiel und Regie inne. Am Schauspiel Leipzig, wo sie seit 2014 Hausregisseurin ist, inszenierte sie u. a. «Und dann» von Wolfram Höll (UA 2014, Schauspiel Leipzig, eingeladen zum Heidelberger Stückemarkt, den Mülheimer Theatertagen und den Autorentheatertagen am Deutschen Theater Berlin 2014), «Die Ermüdeten oder Das Etwas, das wir sind» von Bernhard Studlar (UA 2015), «Metropolis» nach Fritz Lang und Thea von Harbou (2016), «89/90» von Peter Richter (2016, eingeladen zum Berliner Theatertreffen 2017), «geister sind auch nur menschen» von Katja Brunner (2017), «König Ubu/Ubus Prozess» von Alfred Jarry/Simon Stephens (2018) sowie «Süßer Vogel Jugend» von Tennessee Williams (2019). Weitere Inszenierungen u. a. am Schauspielhaus Graz, am Theater Basel, am Theater Dortmund, am Theater Bonn, am Schauspiel Hannover, am Nationaltheater Mannheim. Zuletzt inszenierte sie an der Volksbühne Berlin «Germania » nach Heiner Müller. Claudia Bauer bringt nach «Der Menschen Feind» (UA 2016, Theater Basel) und «Tartuffe oder das Schwein der Weisen» (UA 2018, Theater Basel, eingeladen zum Berliner Theatertreffen 2019) mit «Der eingebildete Kranke oder das Klistier der reinen Vernunft» zum dritten Mal ein Stück von PeterLicht zur Uraufführung.

Stücke

Argan bildet sich nicht nur ein, krank zu sein, sondern ist es auch: Er leidet an Hypochondrie. Er kann und will sich nicht anders zu seinem sozialen Umfeld ins Verhältnis setzen als über sein Leid, um das er in tyrannischer Selbstbespiegelung kreist. PeterLicht seziert sowohl den Individual- als auch den Gesellschaftskörper und bricht das letzte Tabu neoliberaler Selbstoptimierer*innen – das der Sterblichkeit.

Der eingebildete Kranke oder das Klistier der reinen Vernunft

PeterLicht operiert mit dem Personal des Molière'schen Originals, seine literarischen Nachfahren sind allerdings einem Übermaß an Freiheit(en) ausgesetzt: In säkularen Zeiten herrscht der Horror Vacui und so erhofft und fürchtet die «sozial miteinander connectete Skulptur» das Erscheinen Tartuffes, der als Wunschmaschine und Projektionsfläche dient.

Tartuffe oder Das Schwein der Weisen